Sherman County Historical Society and Museum
Open Daily 10 until 5 May through October
Contact: Sherry Kaseberg

News release. November 7, 2002
Recognition and Praise

Sherman County Historical Society/Museum Trustees recognized and rewarded volunteers with a luncheon at Cafe Moro on November 3. Past presidents & Society visionaries Carsten von Borstel of the founding board and Mike McArthur of the expansion board reviewed 20 years of Museum successes and challenges and envisioned a bright future. McArthur described the Museum as anchoring and illustrating the energy, spirit and potential of the county community.
Recognition and praise are a large part of the Museum's volunteer program, one of the strongest among Oregon's small museums. Volunteer Coordinator Dorothy Benson, a 20-year volunteer herself, assumes responsibility for recruiting, training, supervising and rewarding the Museum volunteer staff. This end-of-season event drew 50 volunteers for fellowship, laughter and good food served by the Trustees.  
Trustee Cal McDermid described Oregon's new Cultural Trust and opportunities it provides for supporting cultural organizations. McDermid chairs Sherman County's organizational Cultural Trust committee by appointment of the Sherman County Court.
Eyes twinkling, and with a modest smile, David Fritts received the Society's prized Distinguished Service Award for going the extra Museum mile for 20 years! An artisan and woodworker, he constructed the Museum's first exhibit cases in 1983 just in time to open the Museum in mid-summer for the first time. Since then he has made himself an integral part of expansion and exhibit production in addition to his regular employment. Fritts works with a mostly-female exhibit team; he listens intently and demonstrates patience and a sense of humor.
Charlotte Barnett, Dorothy Benson and Sherry Kaseberg were recognized for twenty years and Cathie Martin, Janet Pinkerton, Leta Ann Reckmann and Vivian Todd for ten years of service. Our retiring unpaid Museum Coordinator, Sherry Kaseberg, received recognition for "countless hours, complete lists and twenty years of conscientious leadership." Kaseberg thanked her Museum colleagues for their collaboration, cooperation, hard work, persistence and patience in producing a national-award-winning museum telling the story of rural Oregon. She noted that a great deal of personal and professional growth occurred in the process. Kaseberg will remain on the Board of Trustees which is beginning interviews for the Museum's first paid Museum Director.


| Home | Exhibits | Society | County | Publications | Schedule | The Store | Awards | Links | Resources | Press | Contact | Email |

200 Dewey Street, P.O. Box 173 - Moro, Oregon 97039
Phone: 541-565-3232
© 2010 Sherman County Historical Society – All Rights
Web Site Design by Kaseberg Design - Site Hosting Provided by eService